Disney, Overdressed Much?

mickey-mouse-1776696_640.jpg
Image from Pixabay, Alexas_Fotos

Oh Disney. Everyone loves you, and don’t get me wrong, I love you too.

Hanna Montana and That’s So Raven seemed to be the background music to my childhood. High School Musical was a cultural icon for the 1995’s babies and up back in its day. Camp Rock, even Lizzie Mcguire these are things we are going to look back on and remember what it was like as a kid in the early 2000’s. I’m going to watch these TV shows and movies with my kids and they’re going to ask…

“Mommy, did you dress like that when you were a kid?”

And I’m going to say

“Lol, no. Their clothes are ridiculous!”

Disney has a track record of making it’s child stars dress quite, weird, in their sitcoms. I think they’re trying to create a balance of trendy and modest. Taking a perfectly acceptable dress, and then having them wear a long sleeved shirt and jeans under it, then a thousand accessories. Google ‘Hanna Montana‘ and any picture you pull up will be some variation of that outfit.

Skinny scarfs, dangly bracelets and tiny vests are all regularly seen on the starlets of these shows and nothing I ever wore at that age. I was lucky if my shirt had rhinestones, let alone a color coordinated shoe, shirt and hat combo with blonde highlights.

Well no, I take the blonde highlights back, I did briefly rock them in elementary school.

None of my friends dressed like this, and it bothered me even when I was young “Why do they dress like this? It looks so weird” or something along the lines of that.

Disney still does this to it’s young actors today, to the point it is ridiculous. If you have ever seen an episode of Shake It Up? Those are the world’s weirdest dressed teens I’ve ever seen, and I’m pretty sure they were supposed to be in high school but they dressed like they were in Jem and the Holograms. I was in high school at the time and they really missed the mark.

These shows aim to relate to young people, their problems and feelings at that stage in their lives. But honestly? If you can’t even understand what young people are wearing then how can we expect you to understand us?

I mean it’s not even that hard, jeans and a t-shirt, maybe a cute backpack. That’s it, that’s what teens dress like.

Need proof? https://www.google.com/search?q=disney+stars+ridiculous+outfits&safe=active&rlz=1C5CHFA_enUS702US702&espv=2&biw=1854&bih=1127&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwjnsuD6qPfQAhULvLwKHeplDDMQ_AUIBigB#safe=active&tbm=isch&q=hannah+montana

Leave a Reply

