Dressing Your Age And What That Means

adult-1867618_1280
Image from Pixabay, Pexels

My mother rolled her eyes when I showed her the black knee high boots I bought that day. I asked her why she doesn’t like them, and she simply said…

“Oh Eva, you have so much growing up to do.”

I was baffled. Does my mother not know that knee high boots are in? I know to style them, and they’re super cute!

I had not thought about the way I dressed until I reached 20. Now, it pops into my head every time I pick up an item or I consider a hem line.

“Is this age appropriate? Do I look immature?”

My staple outfit in high school was a T-shirt and jeans, or maybe leggings if I was feeling lazy. But I didn’t think about it, it felt right and I was comfortable.

But when I wear an T-shirt and jeans, I feel misplaced. I feel like I’m trying to relive an old me and I feel sloppy.

Now, in college I feel much more comfortable in leggings, a blouse and perhaps a long cardigan. It’s a little bit more dressed up, and that’s what I feel comfortable in now.

That’s what it means to me to dress like I’m 20. But that’s not the same for everyone. For some 20 year olds, a T-shirt and jeans are their favorite go to outfit and that’s fine. Dressing you are is less about age and more about dressing to your maturity level. And you could be the most mature person ever, but still want to dress in a T-shirt and jeans.

Dressing your age is very personal. So when someone says to you, “why don’t you start dressing your age” and you don’t really understand what that means, don’t worry. Dress the way you want to dress.

Leave a Reply

